skip to main content

About COT

About the College of Technology (COT)

COT provides career pathways for students to earn certificates, Associate of Science and Bachelor of Science degrees in Engineering and Technology disciplines. COT reduces barriers to education by providing a seamless articulation between the community colleges and the four-year partner universities. In addition, the COT uniquely integrates all of the aforementioned college and universities systems through offering multiple points of entry for completion of degrees.

COT History

The COT was established in 1992 under Connecticut Public Act 92-126 to form articulation agreements between all twelve Connecticut community colleges and public and private partner universities. This unique infrastructure and governance provides seamless articulation between the community colleges and their four-year partner universities providing multiple points of entry for degree completion. For over 20 years the COT has been providing leadership for the transfer pathways and has been recognized as a model transfer program.

Regional Center for Next Generation Manufacturing

The Regional Center for Next Generation Manufacturing, a National Science Foundation Center of Excellence since 2004, provides resources for both students and educators interested in exploring opportunities in today's technology companies. Funded by the National Science Foundation (COT) and led by the Connecticut College of Technology, the Regional Center for Next Generation Manufacturing's programs and initiatives are developed in partnership with industry to ensure students graduate with the skills needed to secure employment in the manufacturing sector. In 2021, the College of Technology received a $7.5 million dollar grant from the NSF to lead the nation’s only NSF National Center for Next Generation Manufacturing. Learn more about the College of Technology and the Regional and National Centers for Next Generation Manufacturing.

Leadership Structure

The COT is led by a State Director and a Site Coordinator's Council, which meets monthly, includes representatives from all 12 Connecticut community colleges, 4-year public and private university partners, the Connecticut Technical High School System, and business and industry partners. Tunxis Community College is the lead college for the COT.

  • Asnuntuck Community College
  • Capital Community College
  • Gateway Community College
  • Housatonic Community College
  • Manchester Community College
  • Middlesex Community College
  • Naugatuck Valley Community College
  • Northwestern CT Community College
  • Norwalk Community College
  • Quinebaug Valley Community College
  • Three Rivers Community College
  • Tunxis Community College (lead COT college)
  • Charter Oak State College
  • Eastern CT State University
  • Central CT State University
  • Southern CT State University
  • Fairfield University
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Hartford
  • University of Bridgeport
Dr. Karen Wosczyna-Birch
Executive Director, College of Technology and Executive Director and Principal Investigator, Regional Center for Next Generation Manufacturing

Dr. James Lombella Regional President, North-West Region

Meeting Minutes

Objectives and Outcomes

The College of Technology is not a distinct, NEASC CIHE accredited entity.